Far Infrared Sauna for Fibromyalgia Relief

Posted: August 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

I was explaining to the owners of the gym Muscle, Inc.,(where I am a member), that I have Fibromyalgia.  They knew previously through our conversations in the past that I was an endurance athlete, however, they never knew that I suffered with so much muscle and joint pains.

Surprisingly, I didn’t have to explain what fibro was to them.  In fact, before I could finish explaining where I get the majority of my pain, the owner handed me an article on the benefits of spending time in a far infrared sauna. 

I was familiar with traditional dry cedar saunas and steam baths from spending so much time in Europe, but I had never heard of an infrared sauna.  In fact, I knew that Muscle had a sauna, but i never paid much attention to it, because it is off in a remote corner of the locker room that is out of site.  On top of that I never knew that it was anything different than your typical dry cedar unit.

From reading the article, I learned that this type of sauna at Muscle uses a small spectrum of electromagnetic radiation that can safely penetrate through the skin and deep into muscle tissue.   Supposedly, the infrared simulates a fever which brings toxins from deep within your muscles up through the fat layer and out to the environment through your skin via sweat.

I started my first treatment last week.  I can honestly say, I felt extremely relaxed and my muscles felt like jello for a few hours after my first experience.  This was a pleasant hiatus from the usual tight bands and painful knots that I usually feel.

Today, August 30, was my second treatment and again I have received significant pain relief in such a short period of time.

I am excited and hopeful that by using the far infrared sauna 3-4 times per week for a half and hour at a clip, I may see some real benefit from my fibro.

Here is a video from inside the sauna where I am sweating like a pig at 126 degrees.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

